Out of my league!

 ET-cartoon

An interesting post I read recently was Rachel’s summary of a paper regarding children’s perspectives of life with technology and the notion that we should use ICTs our students are familiar and comfortable with to help create positive learning environments and assist their learning. It was interesting as it got me thinking of my last professional experience. I was in a Yr 6 class where an interactive smart board (ISB) was used regularly but in a very basic manner. When I needed to use the ISB I was a novice (feeling like the teacher in the pic above) and this was quickly picked up by the students. It didn’t take long for them to call out directions of what I needed to do in order to get the result I wanted. It was a bit of fun at the time and I didn’t really push my ISB skills past this basic use. However, as a result of this course I have made it a goal of mine to push beyond the basic use of the ISB and attempt to use it more effectively in order to develop more opportunities to transform my students learning.

 

Leave a Reply

